Skip to content

When sickness strikes, the music suffers

July 22, 2008

So Sunday was a wash out, not because of rain, which would have been a godsend because I literally melt just sitting in my living room surfing away on the internetz, but because John got deathly ill on Sunday and had to cancel our session in the studio. The upside was I got some chores done that I’ve been putting off (like…laundry! and…watering my dad’s roof plants so he doesn’t kill me! and…filing away receipts! Yay!) I wished we could have finished up tweaking “The Rain” tune, but it’s cool. C’est la vie and you gotta move on.

What sucks is that I started trying to work on this song that has popped into my head, which I have lyrics for but I haven’t quite settled on a melody or figured out the emotion that I want to convey in the song, so it is sort of in music purgatory right now, continually shifting between being a random lyric idea and an actual part of a song. Right when I think I’ve got the melody that feels right, I try to recreate it or I listen back to it recorded and it doesn’t work. I think I just need to spend a little more time batting around with the lyrics in my primo creative spots–which I will someday reveal. Someday. They really aren’t that interesting, but I’m trying to create some degree of mystery here. I’m also trying to cut down on the amount that I end up writing in these blog posts, but it is just SO HARD! Once I sit down and write I can’t stop, but I am tryi n g t o f i g h t t h e u r g e t o c o n t i n u e , s o y o u a r e n’ t b o r e d.

Hmm. If I tried putting a space after every letter it would definitely make it a lot harder to write as much. Hmm… interesting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2008 11:57 am

    yeah man. I was “ill’n” like a villain. Was not cool. Two full days, just gone.

    I was bummed too. Was looking forward to finishing up that track and starting a new one.

    When get together again sing me the lyric idea and we will nail that shit!!!!!

  2. July 23, 2008 12:04 pm

    I know. It totally blew, but that’s ok because we’re midweek which means our next marathon studio session is right around the corner!

Leave a Reply

